Diamond in the Rough

Assumptions we make, assumptions others make?

Throughout the last few weeks the phrase, “a diamond in the rough”, has inhabited my every breathing moment, in the nicest possible way of course.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with the expression, a diamond in the rough is someone who has hidden potential, unseen qualities that are not obvious to those around them. Given the opportunity, they shine.

I have come to realise that teachers are diamonds in the rough. Many outside our profession make assumptions about us. As an intermediate teacher I’ve been guilty of naively making assumptions about others in my profession.

My current role as a reliever has opened a door, the door into the world of little people, a world of fresh challenges. My tool box was dusted off and laid bare.

This post in effect, is to honour all teachers whoever you are, whoever you teach. I congratulate you. Thank you for welcoming me into your world, it has been truly enlightening, life changing in fact. I too have realised that I am a diamond in the rough. I’m still fizzing. Can I come into your classrooms again?

One of my aims with this blog is to be a one stop shop for creative writing resources. In the past I have wasted countless hours combing the internet for resources. Usually late at night when most sensible people are tucked up in bed. After a recent late night request for a reliever, I happily logged onto my blog and printed out all the necessaries in the blink of an eye. Mission accomplished.

My blog is a relative newcomer to cyber space, I have yet to cast off my training wheels. Many of the resources I am sharing are recent creations. My oldest and most precious ideas are waiting patiently for the right moment.

Without further ado, let me introduce my writing focus today, diamante poems. Not particularly original, but under the circumstances appropriate I feel.

Juicy Stuff

 LO: Use nouns, adjectives and verbs to compare two very different things

Lesson Sequence

  • Class discussion to establish students understanding of diamante poems.
  • Share exemplars.

Diamante-poem-recipe

Mrs Flacks Diamante Examples

  • Share diamante recipe.
  • Teacher writes a class example, encouraging input from the class.
  • To support individual writing create class word banks, using two enlarged Frayers Graphic organisers to record words for each subject/object in the poem.

Frayers Graphic Organiser, little helper diamante poems

  • Students glue a copy of diamante recipe in books. To further support individual work, access to copies of the verb list below may be advantageous.

http://www.englishwsheets.com/irregular-verbs-2.html

  • Individual work, teacher working the room to support.
  • Conference with students on completion.
  • Publish poems.

Template for publication

  • A great way to finish the lesson is to share students work, only those who want to, of course.

Snippets

Yes here she goes again. Word lists, whether it be in the form of a hand-out, a class created lists that decorate a whiteboard, or forms orderly columns on a smart board. Words might be recorded on large sheets of paper that are pinned haphazardously to the walls, all are an exceptionally important component of any writing lesson. They support students during the writing process. Many students are afraid to “copy” words. It’s how we all learn, encourage it. Saturate your room with words. Catching little people lying on the floor in front of word lists writing, is magical. As you work the room helping your struggling writers, show them how to use the word lists. Slowly but surely they will get it. Enjoy the ride!

motivation insertjpg#1

About SharynFlack

Wife, Mother, Teacher (Relief), Frustrated Writer, Part Time Artist, Problem Solver
This entry was posted in Creative writing, writing resources and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

