I’m Speechless …. Well Almost

 

My long winter break is rapidly drawing to a conclusion. It’s back to full-time work. Yes I’m jumping back on the roller coaster. The teacher in me is excited to be part of the teaching world again, revelling in the uncertainty that working with children brings. I find it incredibly stimulating and challenging. On the other hand the realist in me also recognises the fact that good teaching requires long hours, it consumes your every waking moment.

I am fortunate that circumstances allowed me take a step back and catch my breath for two terms. During that time new doors opened, I started this blog, was welcomed into the world of little people, created beautiful things, spent precious time with my husband and looked after my battered soul. Long walks, quiet moments, writing whimsical fanciful stuff and healthy meals certainly helped. An enormous thank you, Tony.

What I’ll Miss

IMG_9307IMG_9313IMG_0461#1IMG_0489#1

Over the years speech writing was an annual occurrence in my classroom. It would be fair to say that it is not a popular pass time for many students. Some are reluctant to engage in the process, some completely shut down, add to that the challenge of choosing a suitable topic and you’re on a one way trip to nowhere. After countless lessons where you encourage, support and at times resort to subtle stand over tactics. The tension mounts as the class prepare for the inevitable delivery of the aforementioned speeches, meanwhile you’re coping with a catastrophe of sorts. As a compulsory component of many schools curriculum, tears and anger are often the result.

During my sojourn as a reliever I was often asked to assist classes with speech writing. After I’ve got over my “You have got to be joking moment”, I planned my approach. Yes, I would choose one of my devastating exemplars to create a feverish speech writing frenzy. Accompanied with lots of help, this approach was reasonably successful. The ‘I can’t think of a topic bunch’ continued to chew pensively on their pencils, thinking! My enthusiastic offers of help were always politely turned down.

Teaching is a funny game, you are constantly changing your approach to improve outcomes. I call them social experiments in my private moments. So here we go, Social experiment number 24/version 4A. My mission, and I have to accept it, is to inspire a bunch of students, to make progress with their speech writing. What would I do? I can feel a tongue in cheek speech coming on.

Everyone wants to be special, to be wanted, liked, to be the best. I would sell myself; after all, it is an opinion piece. A speech about me! Yet another exemplar was born, entitled Simply the Best, enjoy the ride.

Simply the Best speech exemplar

I’m quite sure the class I shared this with, were convinced I was totally insane. Funnily enough they all finished writing their speeches.

Before I hit the publish button I want to share what I have been making recently. I’m not content unless I have busy hands.

Tonga pillow cases

A piece of fabric I picked up in Tonga, a nip here, a stitch there and I have two perfect pillowcases.

Beachcombing in Tonga for mosaicing materials. Yes, I did declare them! Two pots ready to grout.

Beachcombing in Tonga for mosaicking materials. Yes, I did declare them! Two pots ready to grout.

Update October 7th

IMG_0547#1 IMG_0545#1

Really pleased with this crocheted sunflower. Pattern from one of the many blogs I follow. http://betsymakes.blogspot.co.nz/2015/08/sunflower-key-keeper.html

Really pleased with this crocheted sunflower.
Pattern from one of the many blogs I follow.
http://betsymakes.blogspot.co.nz/2015/08/sunflower-key-keeper.html

My Lulu Bag. Pattern from Pink Milk blog site. http://www.pink-milk.co.uk/p/crochet-patterns.html I am going to make some more sunflowers and embellish the finished bag with them.

My Lulu Bag. Pattern from Pink Milk blog site.
http://www.pink-milk.co.uk/p/crochet-patterns.html
I am going to make some more sunflowers and embellish the finished bag with them.

If you are into crochet, check out http://attic24.typepad.com/

I’ll post pictures of my grouted pots later in the week. Ka kite ano.

About SharynFlack

Wife, Mother, Teacher (Relief), Frustrated Writer, Part Time Artist, Problem Solver
This entry was posted in Craft project, Reflection, Reflective statement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

