The things we can’t control

I’ve been fluffing about for the last few weeks not knowing how to start this. Not wanting to sound teachery, I’ve decided to bite the bullet and go for it. For anyone that knows me, that can be problematic too. So here we go.

I’m a pretty wired sort of gal. A constant fidgeter, worrying about the stupidest things, the list is long. With the passing of time I like to think that I have become better at managing my idiosyncrasies.

Walking helps, beach walks are a favourite especially after a storm, or even better if I can convince the man during a storm. Checking out the flotsam and jetsam that’s washed up on the beach is a must. Fortunately I spend a lot of time close to the sea, watching the sea, smelling the sea, listening to the sea. Feeling it’s ever changing moods.

IMG_3465

IMG_3463

IMG_3473

From our elevated position I’m able to gaze out to sea and observe the ebb and flow of the seasons. The sea demands respect.

IMG_3478

Coupled with that, for those of you who haven’t noticed, I live in New Zealand, the Shaky Isles, earthquake central! Our lovely wee snippet of paradise has been shaken, shoved, rattled and rolled on numerous occasions recently, with devastating consequences.

Our largest city, Auckland sits on top of an active volcanic field, exciting stuff. Our volcanoes in the central North Island regularly belch and burp. I vividly recall Mt Ngauruhoe frothing forth. I missed my grandmother’s funeral because of a volcanic eruption, Mt Ruapehu angry this time.

Two cyclones have graced us with their presence in the last few weeks leaving their calling card.

IMG_3456

As my sixtieth birthday rapidly approaches I have developed a new found respect for nature. Especially the things we can’t control, the things that have the potential to be catastrophic. Yes storms, earthquakes, volcanic eruptions and the resultant chaos that can occur.

A tsunami siren mounted on a post below us is a constant reminder of another potential hazard, a not so subtle cue to flee to higher ground.

As a result of all this paranoia anyone would think that I’m sitting here in front of my computer wearing my life jacket so I don’t drown. A safety helmet strapped to my head to protect me from volcanic bombs. My snorkel and mask hanging from my neck, with flippers on my feet in case of a tsunami. And of course, a raincoat and umbrella thrown on an adjacent chair in case of storms. Most importantly emergency rations sit patiently in my cupboards in case of an earthquake.

Actually some of this is true. Just a thought!

Where was I, taking time to smell the roses. Here’s to the good things in life, love, fine food and family.

On a more serious note, this post was inspired by my scribblings.

volcano

tsunami

storm

earthquake

If I was in the classroom I would use this resource. Feel free to do the same.

Ka kite ano.

 

About SharynFlack

Wife, Mother, Teacher (Relief), Frustrated Writer, Part Time Artist, Problem Solver
This entry was posted in Free resources, Home, Resources natural disasters and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The things we can’t control

  1. Libby Nunn says:

    Thanks Sharyn, I really enjoyed reading this. Where are you teaching now, and where do you live? The photos depict an exciting spot! Wow! There’s no way I thought that you were coming up to sixty! I love your enthusiasm for life, your vibrant spirit and your friendly personality. I’m privileged to be a part of your blog 😊xx

    • SharynFlack says:

      Thanks Libby for your kind words. I’m not teaching this year, hopefully some relieving will come my way. Teaching full time is very demanding and I was barely spending any time with my husband. Look after yourself, best wishes……..

Leave a Reply

